Over the Sea…

I went to Skye a little more than a decade ago, it is an enchanting,  magical place (I think probably more magical than Tahiti, S.H.I.E.L.D. fans!).  It’s so magical in fact that one of my very best friends (the Quilter) and her family decided to up sticks and go and live there permanently. We said ‘Cheerio’ last week (‘cheerio’, as another friend noted, being so much less final than goodbye) and now they are there, posting envy making photographs on Facebook and settling in.

So much change all at once, what with the Current Situation (as I’ve started having to refer to all the post referendum events) it was an emotional parting. I will miss them very much, but – what with the magic,  and the cooked breakfasts we’ve been promised, and the Shilasdair shop – I expect we’ll be up for a visit soon.

What do you give a person who’s just bought a lovely B&B with a swimming pool and a bit of beach of its own on a beautiful island, as a going away present? Knitting of course.

It’s always a joy to give a handmade gift to another maker, they ‘get it’ (not that non makers don’t, though I’ve had a few frozen grin oh that’s nice moments in my knitting career). Since she’s gone to Scotland that knitting had to be in some way Scottish, so inevitably I cast on for a Hap. This was before The Book of Haps came out (more on that particular rabbit hole another day) so I  chose the Northmavine Hap from Colours of Shetland, but in colours of Skye.

This (below) is the Old Man of Storr, a particularly fine pinnacle of rock don’t you think? When I was on Skye in 2005 I went to an amazing installation by NVA, who create their own magic with light, and I have to say it cast a proper spell on me. But what I’m really interested in here is the grass. I remembered Skye as being really quite green, and I wanted to incorporate that feeling into the hap:

Old Man of Storr

Old Man Of Storr (image: kineticphotos.co.uk)

Also the beaches (and yes, more grass) of white sands strewn with seaweed at the tide line:

Claigan coral beach

image: theskyeguide.com

And for some reason pink and purple sprang into my head. I thought I must have been remembering heather, but perhaps I was actually remembering this little row of cottages:

skye houses

Image: seethehighlands.com

I had my colour scheme, and now I needed to choose the yarn. I settled on:

  • Jamieson and Smith Shetland jumper weight for the greens (since I haven’t been to the Shilasdair shop yet!) as it is Scottish.
  • Touch Possum Silk Merino which actually belongs to the recipient of this hap. It was brought from NZ by her sister-in-law a while back (I still have enough to knit another item). It’s really hairy and has really no stitch definition whatsoever which makes choosing patterns difficult, but I thought it would work in this as the tide line seaweed element.
  • Rowan Rowanspun 4 ply, as we’re both from Yorkshire, for the pink and purple
  • Some white BFL, handspun by me, for the white sand.

This is a lovely pattern with a great rhythm, it’s the second time I’ve made it and it just bowled along. As I hoped the hairy possum yarn worked really well when used in stripes:

Northmavine corner

I did all the repeats on this occasion (I missed the last repeat on my first one, as I wanted a smaller hap) so it can be wrapped round the body like a dancers wrap, in the traditional Hap manner:

Northmavineflat

Here’s the wingspan, on me in a garden in Oxfordshire:

Northmavinewings

I handed this gift over on the day after the EU Referendum (as mentioned above) when we were already feeling rather emotional and overwrought, and there may have been a small weep from both the giver and the recipient. I hope it warms her in the Scottish winter and reminds her of us, though I’m fairly sure I can easily fly to Inverness from quite nearby, and hire a car, and enjoy that cooked breakfast, to remind her myself…

Leave a Reply

